Vacation from a job search?  To rest or not…

10637896_815807671774282_751801376_n

A year ago, I was in a job search that had lasted almost two years.  During that time, I worked a couple of part time jobs, with the hopes of turning part time work into a full time position, but alas, I was laid off from my part time job too.

All summer, I searched, networked, sent out resumes, and the summer was winding down.  My family had a family vacation planned, a trip we always take to the same place, same week.  The question was whether or not to take the time off from my job search.  I was feeling burnt out, and decided I needed time off to recharge my batteries, but that I would take my laptop with me, just in case.

During a job search, it is necessary to recharge your batteries.  I am not suggesting to book a $5000 trip to Disney, but to take a weekend and get away or take that planned trip you already booked.  Your job search will wait, and you can always take a peak at new job postings on your smart phone while sipping your morning coffee.

As I said, last year I took my yearly planned camping trip, with my laptop in tow.  I had a great time with my family, swimming, boating, horseback riding, and still sent out a couple of resumes.  On my third day, I got a call for a Skype interview and another call with a job offer.  I was able to take the Skype interview in the camp director’s office.  Two weeks later, I started the job I have now, and will celebrate my first anniversary next week.

This past week, we took our yearly camping trip to Camp Becket, and had a wonderful time, and I was able to rejuvenate after a hectic year in a job I love.

So take that weekend trip, and recharge your batteries.  Your job search will wait.

About Rachelle Lappinen

​Rachelle Lappinen is a Career and Academic Consultant and a Green Energy Ambassador. Currently, Rachelle serves as an education advocate for MassEdco working with high school students on college and career navigation. Rachelle also consults working with MIT on a research program, researching the effects of long-term unemployment on the middle class and developing best practices to help this population. Rachelle has worked at Mount Wachusett Community College, the YWCA and Becker College as a Career Development Counselor. Before becoming entering the field of workforce development, Rachelle spent over 10 years working as an insurance underwriter. Throughout her coaching and volunteer experiences, Rachelle has been noted for her determination and persistence to help those in need of career guidance. As a volunteer, Rachelle is actively involved with the non-profit organizations such as the Boys and Girls Club of Leominster and Fitchburg and the Center for Women and Enterprises. Prior to entering the coaching world, Rachelle was a senior group insurance underwriter for Unum, and sales representative for Prudential Financial. She actively involved with the Career Counselors Consortium and is a member of the Career Resource Rachelle M. Lappinen, MBA, GCDF, CPRW
This entry was posted in Career, Job Search and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Vacation from a job search?  To rest or not…

  1. Pingback: 7 ways to recover from a lay off | Solutions by Rachelle

Leave a Reply

