Where do you see yourself in 5 years? – Career Development plan

_MG_1068

Where do you see yourself in 5 years? – Career Development plan

The question of whether to develop a career development plan is one that many people ask when looking for a job or developing a career path. Three years ago, when I was unexpectedly thrown into the job market, I read many career books advising me to develop a career development plan. I resisted, as I believed I did not need one. I believed that I knew what I wanted to do and how to get there and did not need to develop a plan.

Last year, I finally decided to write a plan. I came up with a plan for the following year, typed it up with goals, and saved it on my computer. I did this, as my mentor, told me that if I do not write it down, it is not real. The problem with my approach is that I never looked at my plan after writing and saving it on my computer.

This past week, I met with my career coach (yes, even a career coach can benefit from another career coach). We decided that a better approach would be for me to not only type of my goals for the year, but to type another weekly plan and a monthly plan with places to check off if I am meeting my goals, and then to post these plans in places that I would see them every day. I am a visual person, and the visual reminder of these plans will remind me to stay on track. I will even use the wonderful rectangle device we all carry with us, my Smartphone, and post a copy of my plan on my Samsung phone.

My question is not where I see myself in 5 years, but where I see myself next year, and what steps that I need to take to get there.

Please share with me your experience on creating and using career development plans.

 

 

About Rachelle Lappinen

​Rachelle Lappinen is a Career and Academic Consultant and a Green Energy Ambassador. Currently, Rachelle serves as an education advocate for MassEdco working with high school students on college and career navigation. Rachelle also consults working with MIT on a research program, researching the effects of long-term unemployment on the middle class and developing best practices to help this population. Rachelle has worked at Mount Wachusett Community College, the YWCA and Becker College as a Career Development Counselor. Before becoming entering the field of workforce development, Rachelle spent over 10 years working as an insurance underwriter. Throughout her coaching and volunteer experiences, Rachelle has been noted for her determination and persistence to help those in need of career guidance. As a volunteer, Rachelle is actively involved with the non-profit organizations such as the Boys and Girls Club of Leominster and Fitchburg and the Center for Women and Enterprises. Prior to entering the coaching world, Rachelle was a senior group insurance underwriter for Unum, and sales representative for Prudential Financial. She actively involved with the Career Counselors Consortium and is a member of the Career Resource Rachelle M. Lappinen, MBA, GCDF, CPRW
This entry was posted in Career, Job Search and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

