The Importance of Networking after Landing a Job

???????????????????????????????????????????????????

I have been at my present position for almost three months. My followers may have noticed that I have been a bit quiet on LinkedIn and this blog.  I have to tell you, that while you have not heard from me, I have not stopped networking.  My last job search has taught me a valuable lesson on networking and for that reason; networking has become part of my weekly routine.

Part of my job at the YWCA as a career counselor requires networking, attending luncheon events to recruit mentors and speakers for my program.  I also belong to a professional association, where I am able to attend conferences.  I am also currently an MBA student at Fitchburg State University, so two nights a week, I am in class, and I have been reaching out to classmates to develop relationships (this is also the reason you have seen any blog posts, as I have been working on a large research project).

In addition to work and school networking, I have joined toastmasters, where I am improving my speaking abilities, and creating new connections.  I just appeared on local television talking to the mayor about our club.  I also meet connections for lunch or coffee to build our relations.  These meetings have enabled me to find a mentor who has been instrumental in my developing programming for the YWCA’s Young Parent Program.  Finally, by volunteering on a new project with an organization called ICT, (to help the long term unemployed), I been able to develop key connections in the field.

So, while I have been quiet online, I have been actively networking.  I learned my lesson that one cannot relax once landing a job.  The job market has permanently changed.  Gone are the days of company loyalty, where you could depend on a job, as long as you were loyal.  This goes along with the new concept of personal branding, or of marketing oneself and career as a brand.

My New Year’s resolution will be to be more active on LinkedIn and this blog.  In January, I start my last two classes for my MBA, so I may be a bit quiet from January until May.

About Rachelle Lappinen

​Rachelle Lappinen is a Career and Academic Consultant and a Green Energy Ambassador. Currently, Rachelle serves as an education advocate for MassEdco working with high school students on college and career navigation. Rachelle also consults working with MIT on a research program, researching the effects of long-term unemployment on the middle class and developing best practices to help this population. Rachelle has worked at Mount Wachusett Community College, the YWCA and Becker College as a Career Development Counselor. Before becoming entering the field of workforce development, Rachelle spent over 10 years working as an insurance underwriter. Throughout her coaching and volunteer experiences, Rachelle has been noted for her determination and persistence to help those in need of career guidance. As a volunteer, Rachelle is actively involved with the non-profit organizations such as the Boys and Girls Club of Leominster and Fitchburg and the Center for Women and Enterprises. Prior to entering the coaching world, Rachelle was a senior group insurance underwriter for Unum, and sales representative for Prudential Financial. She actively involved with the Career Counselors Consortium and is a member of the Career Resource Rachelle M. Lappinen, MBA, GCDF, CPRW
This entry was posted in Career, Networking, Personal Branding and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Importance of Networking after Landing a Job

  1. Dave Danehy says:

    Hi Rachelle, Great to hear from you. I am still hunting but seeing more interview activity. I’m glad things are working out for you. I started a blog myself. A friend of my Dad’s from a long time ago connected with me and firmly, but gently nudged me into creating one as part of my job search. It focuses on medical device companies who in my opinion have come up with some neat new technologies. Check it out when you nothing else to do at http://www.davedanehy.com (lol!) Good luck on your finishing your MBA and have a Merry Christmas and Happy New Year!

Leave a Reply

