Post your resume on Monster, CareerBuilder and forget it, Not!

file0001711682994

When Monster was founded in 1999, I was in my second job search after college.  After spending one year selling insurance, I discovered that I really was not a natural sales person.  Only a year out of college, I was excited with this new job search tool, where I could post my resume to Monster and the phone would start ringing.  After only a day, I got a half a dozen calls, all from insurance companies; Primerica, MetLife and Aflac were among them, all for insurance sales jobs.  Now, at the time, I thought the reason for these calls was due to the insurance licensing and experience on my resume.  These calls led only to interviews to sell insurance, something that I knew I did not want to do.  When I finally landed a job, it was through a news paper listing of an open house for an insurance company recruiting for jobs in claims and underwriting.

Fast forward 12 years, when I was informed that my job was being relocated to Portland Maine, and I was again in the job market.  This time, I had a feeling that posting my resume to Monster would only result in the same type of calls.  A leading career development writer advised to post resumes on all job search sites, and I briefly considered this, but after talking to my career advisor, I found the reason for this advice from this author was a paid speaker by Monster.  I was told that posting your resume to Monster is only helpful if you have a rare talent.  I ultimately decided not to post my resume to Monster.  In the past two years, I was offered two part-time jobs that I found through informational interviewing and networking, which is how more than 70% of jobs are found. 

Fast forward almost two years later.  My job again has been eliminated, and I am now in the job market.  Through my job seeking group that I run and through other networking groups, I have been hearing that people were getting good interviews by posting their resumes to Monster.  I decided to perform an experience.  I set up a Monster account with my first name and a different last name.  I set up a separate email and a Google voice mail, and posted my resume.  I wanted to track which calls came from posting my resume to Monster, CareerBuilder, SimplyHired.com, etc.  The results were the same.  My resume had reference to my brief sales experience and underwriting experience on page two, but instead was geared to higher education.  The calls I got were from Aflac, MetLife, Primerica and other insurance companies.  I then posted another resume with only the higher education experience, thinking that maybe the insurance key words resulted in the calls from insurance companies.  The result of my higher education resume was the same; I got calls from Aflac, MetLife and Primerica among other insurance companies.

The conclusion of this experience is that posting your resumes to job sites result in only one kind of call, sales jobs.  If you are looking for something else, networking is your best bet.  Sites such as Simplyhired.com are great; as they allow you to input your LinkedIn info and see who works in the company you are interested in who may be able to help you find a job.  Plus, Simplyhired.com is an aggregate job search site and will pull listings from Monster as well as company job boards, and other job search sites.  Many companies are avoiding posting to Monster due to the cost, and over  90% of recruiters are looking to LinkedIn to search for talent.

Please let me know what has worked for you?  How have you succeeded in getting interview calls?  What is your experience with posting your resume to job boards?

About Rachelle Lappinen

​Rachelle Lappinen is a Career and Academic Consultant and a Green Energy Ambassador. Currently, Rachelle serves as an education advocate for MassEdco working with high school students on college and career navigation. Rachelle also consults working with MIT on a research program, researching the effects of long-term unemployment on the middle class and developing best practices to help this population. Rachelle has worked at Mount Wachusett Community College, the YWCA and Becker College as a Career Development Counselor. Before becoming entering the field of workforce development, Rachelle spent over 10 years working as an insurance underwriter. Throughout her coaching and volunteer experiences, Rachelle has been noted for her determination and persistence to help those in need of career guidance. As a volunteer, Rachelle is actively involved with the non-profit organizations such as the Boys and Girls Club of Leominster and Fitchburg and the Center for Women and Enterprises. Prior to entering the coaching world, Rachelle was a senior group insurance underwriter for Unum, and sales representative for Prudential Financial. She actively involved with the Career Counselors Consortium and is a member of the Career Resource Rachelle M. Lappinen, MBA, GCDF, CPRW
This entry was posted in Job Search and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Post your resume on Monster, CareerBuilder and forget it, Not!

  1. tina ryden says:

    Great research!

  2. David says:

    thanks for sharing you are on the money , I am looking for BD positions and seem to find only the lower end sales positions to be active on the main stream sites.

  3. beth says:

    I also have gotten random calls from some sort of life insurance group, and I have no skills or experience in that area! I read that these “employment opportunity” calls are often a scam to get you to listen to some sort of marketing presentation. Very interesting post!

  4. monica says:

    Thank you for the post. I’ve experienced the same. Also be wary of contract agencies that troll many of job posting websites. Before submitting my resume I investigated two and found out that they have a history of complaints. Be cautious and good luck.

  5. Debbie Kenny says:

    Thanks for the great info Rachelle. Perhaps posting a resume on these job boards would work for certain types of jobs, but it has never produced any results for me. I have a friend who I believe got some interviews this way for software engineering positions. More than insurance, I think I’ve been targeted for franchise opportunities, which I’m sure is based on my previous executive-level job titles.

  6. Robert Dufresne says:

    Rachelle. Your research is spot on. My experience submitting my resume to Monster produced the same type of phone calls that became very annoying over time based on my resume having nothing to do with Insurance Sales experience or interest. Networking is the way to go to obtain the best opportunity of landing a position and you’ve done an excellent job leading the Leominster Networking group. Keep up the good work.

  7. Reblogged this on careersolutionsbyrachelle and commented:

    Dear Aflec:
    I am not interested in the below email which has come once a week since I posted my resume to Monster three months ago… P.S. I just landed a job in a much more suitable field, career development…
    Weekly Email from Aflec:
    We found your resume online and we are very interested in your skills for our career opportunity. We would like to invite you to attend a career information session at either our Waltham or Sturbridge location, whichever is most convenient for you. While the interview will take place at one of these locations, positions are available at numerous locations throughout the region. Please click here to sign up for the time that’s most convenient for you to learn more about Aflac.

  8. juliana says:

    I worked for a very brief period of time in one of those insurance companies and what they do is that they buy your phone numbers from both monster and career builder and that is it, they will call you regardless of what your resume says, since they don’t even see it. I have called lawyers, engineers, bank managers, people barely out of high school … they do massive recruiting no matter what your resume says. I hated it!!

  9. Kevin says:

    This article was very interesting reading. Someone I know recently got laid off, due to the company being sold, and she posted her resume on Careerbuilder, Monster, etc. Almost immediately, she got a call from an insurance company, which she did not apply to. Just like in the article, it was for a sales job. I find it disheartening, and a bit scary, that all of these unintended companies have access to your personal information. Especially at such a vulnerable time.

Leave a Reply

